Staff

Police Chief Joseph GrecolPolice Chief Joseph Grecol has been a member of the Berea Division of Police since May 1993. He was promoted to sergeant in July 2006 and to chief of police in September 2014. Chief Grecol grew up in North Olmsted in a family of six children. He is a 1985 graduate of St. Ignatius High School. He studied at the University of Dayton and earned a bachelor of science degree in psychology from Cleveland State University in 1991. Chief Grecol is a graduate of the University of Akron Police Academy. He and his wife, Karen, have been married for 24 years and have nine children.

 

 

Command Staff 
 Officer  Rank  Email  Phone  Badge #  Title
Joseph Grecol Chief JGrecol@bereapolice.org 440-826-5844  1600 Police Chief
Joseph Hedinger Lieutenant JHedinger@bereapolice.org 440-826-5874  1601 Operations Supervisor 
Patrick Greenhill Sergeant PGreenhill@bereapolice.org 440-826-5844  1642 Sergeant  
Amy Decker N/A adecker@bereapolice.org 440 826-5852  1603 Chief's Secretary
Laura Rizk  ACO LRizk@bereapolice.org 440 826-5842 1692 Animal Control
Luke Napaver Sergeant LNapaver@bereapolice.org   1643 Sergeant
Aaron Krouse Sergeant AKrouse@bereapolice.org   1644 Sergeant
Tom Walker Sergeant TWalker@bereapolice.org   1645 Sergeant
 
 Dectective Bureau
Tim Gerding Sergeant TGerding@bereapolice.org 440-826-5845 1640 Bureau Supervisor
Chris Holmes Detective Cholmes@bereapolice.org 440-826-5848 1618 Juvenile Detective
Chuck Gute Detective CGute@bereapolice.org 440-826-5847 1612 Detective
Dennis Bort Detective DBort@bereapolice.org 440-826-5846 1610 Detective
         
 Patrol Division
 Name   Platoon  Email Address Phone  Badge #  Title
Kevin Burke   KBurke@bereapolice.org 440 826-5870 1619 Senior Patrolman
Justin Carey   jcarey@bereapolice.org 440 826-5870 1620 Patrolman
Robb Chernisky  RMChernisky@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1636  Patrolman FTO
Dan Clark  DClark@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1627  Patrolman
David Fadil   DFadil@bereapolice.org 440 826-5870 1611 Senior Patrolman
David Kammerman   DHKammerman@bereapolice.org 440 826-5870 1625 Senior Patrolman
Daniel Kelly  DKelly@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1624  Patrolman 
Rich Butler Rpbutler@bereapolice.org 1615 Patrolman
Adam Laeng  ALaeng@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1630  Patrolman 
Theodore Makrinos  TMakrinos@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1635  Patrol Motorcycle 
Tim Milter  TMilter@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1607  Canine Officer
Ean Esposito Eesposito@bereapolice.org 440 826-5870 1617 Patrolman 
Tim Paul  TPaul@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870  1622  Senior Patrolman 
Doug Pyle  DPyle@bereapolice.org   440 826-5870  1634  Patrolman 
Joseph Quinn  JQuinn@bereapolice.org  440 826-5870 1613  Patrolman 
Roger Vaughn   RVaughan@bereapolice.org  440-826-5870  1616 Senior Patrolman  
           
Auxiliary Division   
Name  Seniority Date  Email Address Phone  Badge  
Ray Broughton  6/9/1996   440 826-5870 1676  
Adam Doyle 8/23/2007 440 826-5870 1678
John Kilkenny 5/4/1994    440 826-5870 1673
Joseph Vedda 1/14/2003   440 826-5870 1662
Timothy Yaeger 5/3/1993 440 826-5870 1661
Brenin Davidson       1679  
James Peterman       1667
 Police Dispatchers
Anne Boone 11/5/1979 ABoone@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1681  
Kay Ellis   kellis@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1697  
Dianna Hagar 9/23/2002 DHagar@bereapolice.org  

440-826-5870

1698  
Virginia (Jen) Hickle 5/9/1996 VHickle@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1695  
Kathi Webb   kwebb@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1699  
Diane Williams 4/12/1995 DWilliams@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1694  
Shelly Sudik   SSudik@bereapolice.org

440-826-5870

1691

 

Amy Decker       1603  


Chief’s Administrative Assistant: Amy Decker
Five Full Time Dispatchers: Anne Boone, Kay Ellis, Jenny Hickle, Dianna Hagar and Diane Williams
Two Part-Time Dispatchers: Kathi Webb, Shelly Sudik, Amy Decker 
Seven Auxiliary Officers: John Kilkenny, Tim Yeager, Ray Broughton, Joseph Vedda and Adam Doyle, Brenin Davidson, James Peterman 
Animal Control Officer: Laura Rizk
School Resource Officer's: Robert Lages,and Lauren Cummings
School Guards: Bernadette Butler, Anne Marshall
Reverend: Leroy McCreary 

The Berea Police Department manpower presently stands at 28 full time sworn officers. The breakdown is as follows:

  • 1 Chief of Police
  • 1 Lieutenant
  • 5 Sergeants
    * 3 Patrol Sergeants, 1 Detective Sergeant, 1 Community Relations & Projects Sergeant 
  • 19 Patrolmen  
    * 16 assigned to patrol duties
    * 3 assigned to detective bureau  

We have 7 auxiliary officers, one animal control officer, one administrative assistant, 5 fulltime dispatchers and 3 part-time dispatchers.

Contact Information

Emergency:
911 or
440-234-1234


Police Chief
Joe Grecol
440-826-5870
jgrecol@bereapolice.org

Police Department Organizational Chart

City of Berea - 11 Berea Commons - Berea, Ohio 44017 - (440)826-5800
Designed and Maintained by: Information Services Center